It was truly an honour and a priviledge to have attended the inaugural African Women Awards held at the Meikles Hotel in Harare. I say this because I applaud the event for being well organised and for being the first of its kind to introduce a platform to solely celebrate African Women in their spheres of work. The inaugural evening was the brain child of Lisa Chiriseri and Carol Nyazika; who conceptualised the idea back in 2013. Hosts of the evening were Ruvheneko Parirenyatwa and Mutsa Samuel, with performances from Gemma Griffiths, Bryan Kadengu, Rutendo Denise and Botswana’s Sheillah. The evening also brought out some of Zimbabwe’s successful women, with the likes of Mai Rebecca Chisamba of the Mai Chisamba show and Danielle Allen of TIR Fashion House.

Looking into African Women Association (AWA), is a foundation created to celebrate African role models, particularly women who have excelled in their respective spheres; whether young or old. With the African Women Awards, AWA aims to achieve women’s empowerment, development and contribute to gender equality by adhering to the 2015 Millenium Development Goals (MDG) – Goal number 3 “to promote gender equality and empower women”. As a foundation, AWA has created a platform that both motivates and inspires young African female leaders by creating the new contemporary African woman aesthetic, challenging the western norm of successful women of colour. AWA’a inaugural evening paid homage to three outstanding categories:

Entertainment and Arts

Community and Politics

Business and Enterprise

African Women Awards Winners List

Business and Enterprise Category

Young Entrepreneurial Spirit Award

  • Nadia Rakotovaoarison – Madagascar – Foundering Director of a Private School Frisquette, President Director General of the Top Prime Radio (FM 102.8) & General Secretary of the private University UPRIM

Business Achievement Award

  • Bethlehem Tilahun Alemu – Ethiopia – CEO & Founder – Sole Rebels

Industry Excellence Award

  • Natalie Jabangwe-Morris – Zimbabwe – Econet Head Business and Marketing Development

Dynamic Start-up Business Award

  • Jackie Mgido – Zimbabwe – Founder of Vault Cosmetics

Living Legacy Award

  • Mrs Folorunsho Alakija – Nigeria – Second richest women in Africa. A business tycoon involved in the fashion, oil and printing industries

Entertainment and Arts

Creative Visionary Award

  • Danielle Allen – Zimbabwe | Nigeria | UK – Fashion Designer

Media Excellence Award

  • Farai Gundan – Zimbabwe | USA | Africa – Co-Founder Farai Media, 2015 Young Global Leader – WEF, Speaker, Host, Forbes Contributor

Star Power Award

  • Bonang Matheba – South Africa – Talk Show Host, Brand Ambassador, Radio Host

Promising Personality Award

  • Dillish Matthews – Namibia – BBA Season 8 Winner, Entertainer, Brand Ambassador & Entrepreneur

Living Legend Award

  • Biola Alabi – Nigeria – Media Expert, Former Managing Director of MNet Africa, Managing Partner of Biola Alabi Media Consulting, Young Global Leader – World Economic Forum (2012)

Community and Politics

Grass Roots Impact Award

  • Esther Kalenzi – Uganda – Founder of a Non-profit Organization called 40 days over 40 smiles Foundation

Young Activist Award

  • Sarah Toum – Tunisia – Activist

Social Humanitarian Award

  • Zeinab Blandia – Sudan – Peacemaker and Community Leader from the Nuba Mountains in Sudan

Young Change Maker Award

  • Juliana Tahina Ratovoson – Madagascar – Youngest advisor to the Prime Minister Head of the Government

Living Leader Award

  • Dr. Jennifer Riria – Kenya – Group CEO of Kenya Women Holding

Check out the full LIST of nominees on Three Men On A Boat.

AWA 1AWA 2Gemma and Bryan AWAAWA 3 AWA 4 Rutendo Denise AWASignature Toscie AWA

Always Gorgeous and Glamourous,